Hitchin Band Home

Hitchin Band win top prize and two individual prizes in the SCALA Autumn Contest 2010

Hitchin Band wins three prizes in the SCALA Autumn Contest 2010 in Folkestone, including the 1st prize in the Second Section, plus prizes for Best Instrument (Alice Bailey on Flugal) and Best Percussion Section (Dan Perrins, Hannah Prince, Emily Prince and Tracy Gales)

Hitchin Band got their reward of first prize in the second section after putting in lots of hard work with Craig Patterson our MD, Hitchin Band put in a superb performance of "Hollywood" by Goff Richards.

As the results were read out, 3rd prize went to Shanklin Town Brass band number 4, 2nd prize went to Colchester band number 5.... surely cannot be 4..5..6 as the band number was read out all of Hitchin band gave a raw of delight at the news, everyone hugging and kissing... Dinah Birch, the band principal stepped up to receive the cup to further cheers from the band members
but there was more prizes to come, with Alice getting the best instrument and the percussion section receiving their trophy, more cheers and more celebrations

Craig Patterson Celebrating the win
Craig Patterson Celebrating the win

Alice Baily with her prize
Alice Baily with the trophy for best instrument

Percussion Section
Percussion Section Dan Perrins, Hannah Prince, Emily Prince and Tracy Gales

Band Secretary, Chris Ankers, said:

"The band have put in much hard work on the Hollywood! over the past few months with players doing a lot of individual practice as well as together in band rehearsals. We feel the result has proven we have an excellent band and we are looking forward to doing it again next year."

Full Results

Results Second Section

Adjudicator Nigel Hall

1 Hitchin Craig Paterson (drawn 6)
2 Colchester Peter Ivey (drawn 5)
3 Shanklin Town Brass Malcolm Lewis (drawn 4)
4 Betteshanger Colliery Band Steve McIntyre (drawn 3)
5 Oxted Martin Beaumont (drawn 2)
6 Uckfield Concert Brass Nick Morris (drawn 9)
7 St Sebastian Wokingham Lee Woodward (drawn 1)
8 Medway Concert Brass Garrie Harvey (drawn 10)
9 Hangleton Richard Baker (drawn 7)
10 Cranbrook Town Ian Lanceley (drawn 8)

Best Instrumentalist Alice Bailey - Flugel - Hitchin
Best Horn Section Colchester
Best Solo Horn Isla Mason - Betteshanger Colliery Band
Best Percussion Section Hitchin
Conductors Prize Malcolm Lewis - Shanklin Town Brass